FAQ about Me

Last year I started doing monthly Q&A’s on my Instagram Stories, where I invite my followers to “Ask Me Anything.” I love being able to interact and spark conversation, as well as gain insight into what people would like to know about me. I am open book, and always encourage people to ask as many questions as they’d like. After all, I have always been an inquisitive person, and enjoy the flip side, of asking people questions to learn more about who they are on a deeper level. After all, they say,

“The wise person doesn’t give the right answers, they pose the right questions.”

Below, I have compiled a list of the most frequently asked questions on my Instagram Stories. I hope you enjoy learning a little bit more about me, and I invite you to contact me should you want to delve deeper! I would certainly love to learn about you.

Q: Where are you from?

A: I was born and raised in Malibu. I lived there until I was 18, when I moved to the Beverly Hills/West Hollywood area. Funny enough, I went to Pepperdine, which is in Malibu but did not live in the area while attending university.

Q: Did you go to college? If so, what did you study?

A: Yes, I went to Pepperdine University in Malibu. I studied Sociology and English.

Q: What was your first job?

A: My first job was an internship at In Touch Weekly Magazine when I was 18. I loved to write (that is why I studied English in school) and wanted to learn about the publishing industry. I actually ended up getting hired at the magazine shortly after my internship, where I was reporting on fashion and beauty trends. I stayed at In Touch Weekly for 4 years, and met one of my now very close friends, who was my first boss (the West Coast Bureau Chief at the time.)

Q: When and how did you start your blog?

A: I started Caviar & Cashmere in 2011, while I was working at a magazine called 944 (which is sadly, no longer around.) At the time, I was writing editorial pieces for the book as well as creating content for their website. I began to fall in love with digital media, and decided to start a blog where I could write about all of the things I discovered and loved.

Q: How did you come up with the name Caviar & Cashmere?

A: Believe it or not, the name Caviar & Cashmere was the first and only name I thought of for my blog when I launched in 2011. I wanted two things that denoted luxury, since it was going to be a luxury lifestyle blog. I also wanted the name to be the same as my initials, since my nickname has always been “CC.” Caviar & Cashmere came to me in the middle of the night, I jotted it down on a notepad along with the logo, and I stuck with it ever since!

Q: When is your birthday, and what is your sign?

A: I was born on July 8, which makes me a Cancer.

Q: Are you close with your family?

A: Yes! My parents, sister, and I are all very close. I consider them to be my best friends. We speak multiple times per day and still travel together at least once a year. I am also close to my extended family, in particular my grandmother Honey Chase, who is turning 99-years-young next month!

Q: Are you married?

A: No, not yet. I am grateful to have been in a few serious, long-term relationships but none that resulted in marriage. Marriage is something I definitely want, but also something which I take very seriously. I would like to only do it once, with the right person. I also would love to have a family, so I am hoping that I am fortunate enough to have children one day.

Q: How tall are you? What is your ethnic background?

A: I am 5 foot 7 inches. I am a mix of Russian and Polish on my father’s side (they were Ashkenazi Jews) and English, Scottish, Irish, French on my mother’s side.

Q: Are you religious?

A: No, I do not consider myself to be religious. I am a spiritual person, with knowledge and deep respect of different religions, in fact I am well read on the subject, but choose not to practice any organized religion.

Q: What is your favorite part of being a blogger?

A: I honestly feel so blessed that I get to wake up and do what I love every day. I am so passionate about what I do, and that is what has driven me for now 8 years. I love creating content, both written and visual, and sharing it with the world. I have always been creative, drawn to multimedia, whether it was chronicling my family trips in pages upon pages of journals (which I still have), writing poetry, choreographing dances and filming videos with my friends (which I am sure will be shown at my wedding someday), creative directing family holiday card photoshoots, or studying photography in school. I always knew I wanted to create content, and now I get to do it for a living!

Q: What is your least favorite part of being a blogger?

A: Anything having to do with accounting or math! When you are an independent contractor, you take on the responsibility of every aspect of your business. The fun stuff, like working with brands, creating content, attending events and traveling are also accompanied by the not so much stuff, like invoicing, 1099s, bookkeeping, and so on and so forth. Math was never my forte and it was always be my least favorite part of (any) job.

Q: Which is your favorite city you have visited?

A: That is a tough question, because I have visited so many amazing cities. Within the U.S., I have to say Napa Valley. I am not a big drinker, but I do drink wine, and I absolutely love learning about the winemaking process and discovering new wine labels. I also cannot get enough of the amazing farm-to-table food that they have in Napa. Internationally, I love Istanbul, Tel Aviv, Jaipur, Paris, Cape Town and Sydney.

Q: Which cities are next on your list to visit?

A: I have yet to visit any part of Asia/Japan! I am dying to travel to Japan, Thailand, and Singapore. I would also love to go to Morocco, the Amalfi Coast, Tuscany, and Provence.

Q: What is the one thing every house should have?

A: A dog.

Q: What do you do for diet and exercise?

A: I do not diet, although I do intermittent fast. I try to eat as clean as possible, but I do not deprive myself of things I crave. I believe everything is okay in moderation, like pasta, pizza, and cheeseburgers (I know some many disagree here.) I exercise about 3-4 times a week, switching between yoga classes, hiking and going to Equinox.

Q: What are your favorite books?

A: I read a lot and have many favorites across different genres but the first that come to my mind are: Shantaram, The Four Agreement, Steve Jobs, The Five Languages of Love, Awaken the Giant Within.

Q: What is your love language?

A: Quality time and physical touch are my first two. I do think all five are important in a healthy relationship, but it is important to understand the way you receive love, and the way your partner likes to receive love.

Q: What is your Myers-Briggs personality type?

A: According to the Myers-Briggs Personality Test, I am an ESFJ.

Q: Why did you start Caviar & Cashmere Skincare?

A: You can read all about why I started here.

Q: Are you involved in any charities?

A: Absolutely. I am involved in a few charitable organizations, some of which since I was a kid. My uncle founded D.A.R.E., a national non-profit, which aims to educate children on resistance to drugs and violence. I was the President of the Youth Division for many years. I do work with United Nations GirlUp Foundation, which supports UN programs promoting the health, safety, education, and leadership of girls in developing countries. I also helped start an NGO in India called PROUD. You can learn more about the project here. I am also looking into getting George certified as a service/therapy animal, so we can both volunteer our time to people who need the love from a sweet, caring dog like him.

The post FAQ about Me appeared first on Caviar & Cashmere.

Liquid error (layout/theme line 205): Could not find asset snippets/jsonld-for-seo.liquid